Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets, many small local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

There is the number of supermarkets growing faster today than in the past and this trend has influenced many individual stores getting harder to run their business. I completely agree with some critics saying that if too many local stores went bust, the residential society will not be aware of it anymore. Firstly, many small businesses are not able to use a price strategy to attract consumers since people tend to purchase products in supermarket chains. The reason usually is that many supermarkets provide much cheaper price due to the number of product orders from suppliers at one time. Therefore, this new shopping style causes local groceries to lose the majority of consumers who are not able to earn profits, resulting in gradually losing competitiveness in the community. When it comes to supermarket chains, even though its automation checkout system helps consumers to purchase products efficient and time-saving, people gradually do not have interaction with others. For instance, before supermarket comes out, housewives not only go to groceries to purchase daily necessities, but also to catch up with their neighbors or people who live in the same area when they bump into the shops. So if many local small stores close down, it is likely to affect people's life because they do not particularly have many chances to talk with each other. In conclusion, there is unavoidable to say that growing up supermarkets chains have been threatening local business in the views of the fact that individuals cannot get the much cheaper price to order products from suppliers. As a result, when people start to the only shop in supermarkets, their convenience brings people gradually not really to get involved with others. It is generally not a positive effect on the community.