Doing an enjoyable activity with a child can develop better skills and more creativity than reading. Use reasons and specific examples to explain your answer. v. 278

It is an often discussed topic whether a child can acquire a greater range of useful abilities by enjoying diverse fun activities instead of reading. I think that utilization of children’s excessive free time for video-gaming and participating in athletic events greatly benefits to their ingenuity and attitude. Although reading has numerous benefits, playing game consoles is a powerful way of facilitating creative thinking. This is because playing games can lower the barriers of established behavioural norms and routines by offering new rules and sometimes even new realities. For example, a study conducted by MIT showed that high school students playing one hour daily on consoles such as Play-station and Nintendo outperformed their counterparts by 25 percent in doing brain teasers. Therefore, engaging in game consoles has proved successful in fostering creativity skills that are neglected by just reading. Next, participation in sports competition contributes to developmental outcomes for a healthy lifestyle rather than individualization over reading. This is due to the fact that through competitive sport children can learn about physical, social, and cognitive skills. For instance, an article from Nature implied how the influence of coaches and family members that children receive throughout sports events was important for children’s social, psychological and emotional transformation. Consequently, sport is a great alternative to reading and a powerful tool that allow youngsters to develop self-confidence and emotional maturity. To conclude from the examples and arguments given I firmly believe that performing entertaining activities gives a child permission to think and behave differently, and this is where the magic starts to happen.