Some people think that history has nothing or little to tell us, but others think that studying the past can help us better understand the present.

Nowadays, people remain divided over whether we should study history. While some people believe that there isn’t anything to learn from the past, others argue that history is a valuable source of information for us. I side with the latter. On the one hand, I understand why people think it is unprofitable to study history. First, most of the information which we learn from the past is not useful in daily life and the future. They are facts, dates, names, what happened in the past. Second, it is clear that most of the children in school don't interested in history. They believe that the past is just past and there isn't any reason for studying the past instead they focus on science or technology that is more relevant to their jobs in the future. On the other hand, I would argue that we should study history. It is clear that there are much knowledge and experience that we could learn from the past. As a result, the same mistakes wouldn't be made again and again. Moreover, learn about the past often gives us a glimpse of the future. It helps us have better views of the present and the future. Last but not least, history help people understand deeper about their country, their culture, what their ancestor experienced and did in the past. They also learn about the cause and effect, so they would make the right choice in the future. Hence, I believe that people would be better because they study history. In conclusion, although it has always been a controversial issue over whether people should study history, I firmly believe that history plays an important role in people's education.