Do you think that advertising encourages people to buy things that they don’t want?

The world that we live in today is dominated by advertising. While some people argue that advertising is creative industry that creates awareness of product, others are of the opinion that advertisement enforces to buy unnecessary things. I believe that latter opinion is more correct, as will be explained. To promote a product company uses its brighter side, which only provides incomplete information regarding product. To examplify, today a lot of advertisements are shown about herbal products to reduce weight and that leads to increase in their sales however, health experts says that this product have a lot of side effects and weight can also be reduced by maintaining your diet and exercise. Although, Advertising mainly focuses on brand selling with the use of glamorous and successful people which persuades us to follow the new trend as we live in consumer culture. Moreover, children are more attracted towards advertisement, so they mainly focuses on marketing at children. In this way, children get influenced by the product features and forces their parents to buy it for them even if they can’t afford. A case in point, some schools in UK have banned the use of cellphone in the premises of school as it is major cause of distraction but children want to buy those cellphone because of attraction from advertisement. In conclusion, we can say that an advertisement creates an impression on consumer’s mind which leads them to buy undesirable products. So, it is highly recommended to research about the product before buying it.