Do you think that advertising encourages people to buy things that they don’t want?

In the era of globalization, advertising plays a major role in the competitive business world. Many industries capitalize on the power of advertising to attract or to win customers away from their business rivals. The impact of advertising is so huge that it causes many people to purchase things that they do not want initially. Many people do not realize that while advertising encourages people to purchase things they do not want to by conveying misleading ideas and being negatively influential on their decisions, it still provides the avenue for people to choose wisely in their life. Firstly, advertising encourages people to buy thing they don’t want to through misleading ideas. Advertising is proven to be a successful tool to highlight the features of their product to the public even though the product is deemed undesirable such as cigarettes, drugs, alcohol and so on. For example, Dunhill, a cigarette company which sponsors many football teams, seems to be promoting cigarettes to the public. Without the sponsorship, the company will be less known to the public, resulting in less sale of cigarettes. However, many people smoke nowadays because they are influenced by the successful advertising even though smoking is bad for health. Besides that, advertising has a large impact on the decisions made by the people in their everyday life. Many businesses use advertising as a form of promotion to create awareness about their product in the market. A new product needs extensive advertising to penetrate into the market, while existing products require advertising to increase the consumption. For instance, in a fast food industry, the introduction of a new flavour of burger needs advertising to reach the public while the other burgers require advertising to increase consumption. Children, especially, are easily influence by the advertisement and will have the desire to dine at fast food restaurants after that. Although fast food is bad for health, it has successfully become appealing to the public through successful tactics in advertising. However, advertising encourages people to make the right choices while purchasing things that are essential in their daily live. Advertising plays a part in helping consumers to compare a product in terms of price, quality, reliability and so on. Without advertising, it will be very difficult for consumers to judge the worthiness of a product. For example, advertisements initiated by various companies have given the consumers the opportunity to choose wisely when purchasing an item. Without the power of advertising, consumers will be stuck to a brand which may not offer the best option. In conclusion, even though advertising have influenced people to buy things that they don’t want by providing misleading ideas and influence people into making wrong decisions, advertising has done people a favour too by helping consumers to choose wisely. Therefore, I agree that advertising causes consumers to buy things they don’t want to but moderation is the key when it comes to choosing the right advertisement.