Children’s education is expensive. In some countries, the government pays some or all of the costs. Do the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

In an era of knowledge-based economy, education for all is a valid concept. The impacts of government funding for children's education have aroused widespread controversy. As far as I am concerned, the potential benefits of this initiative overshadow its perceived drawbacks. Admittedly, there may be challenges if governments offer to pay for all children's educational expenses. For one thing, taking full responsibility for next generation's education is likely to incur an enormous financial burden for governments. In other words, governments are accountable for not only education, but other public services, such as public transport, health care, and so forth. For another, it is also possible that some parents will take advantage of this policy. To be specific, people who are not morally aware may take it for granted and refuse to contribute to their sons' and daughters' future development, thus failing to play their roles in parenting. Nevertheless, governments' engagement in children's education brings more profoundly positive impacts. First and foremost, providing education for children, regardless of their races and ethnicities can effectively foster educational equality. For instance, in many underdeveloped areas of the world, multitudes of parents have to work overtime in order to pay mounting bills. In this regard, if governments share some of children's tuition fees and accommodation fees, this will be a real blessing for families that are economically disadvantaged. Moreover, under no circumstances should authorities downplay and neglect children's education. A convincing example is No Child Left Behind Act in the United States. By investing a considerable amount of money in supporting elementary and secondary education, the American government will, in a long term, promote overall social development and well-being of its people. To conclude, children's education deserves financial support from governments. Meanwhile, it should be borne in mind that educating the next generation is a shared obligation for governments as well as individuals.