Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

There is a dire need to save our planet for the future. Humans depend on the environment for survival as it provides our food, shelter and air. In recent times, large populations and abuse of the environment have led to serious concerns for the long-term survival of the human race. Although some believe people must sacrifice our comforts to achieve this goal, I do not agree with this. There are alternative solutions such as changes in behaviour and automation which can save nature without giving up our luxuries. One effective solution to helping nature is to make simple changes in people’s daily habits. There needs to be more attention paid to reducing, reusing and recycling products. For example, people can use the same glass mug for their morning coffee instead of a plastic or paper cup that they throw away each time. Also, individuals can turn off the tap when brushing or shaving. This can save millions of litres of water each year. For example, I always take my plastic water jug with me instead of buying fresh water bottles at the store. This is one of two ways to safeguard the environments without giving up creature comforts. Using sustainable machinery can also solve environmental challenges for future generations. There are many ecofriendly technological alternatives to what society uses today, which are much less damaging for nature. Some of these technologies include solar, energy, digital publishing and electric transportation. For instance, last year I sold my gas-powered car and converted to electric, so that I decrease my carbon footprint. In conclusion, alterations in human activity and automation are viable interventions for the pressing environmental challenges of today and tomorrow. I completely disagree that making these changes demands giving up people’s convenient way of life. All people must take responsibility to invest in green automation and modify daily routines since we do not inherit the earth from our parents, but we borrow it from our children.