Teachers’ performance should be evaluated by students rather than by other teachers.

Nowadays, there is a buzz topic about whether professors’ performance at class should be evaluated by students or other teachers. Even though some people may claim that the teachers who works together may be the better choices to evaluate their colleagues, form my perspective, I prefer students who attend the professors’ class to give their evaluations. To begin with, the evaluations of students who attend teacher’s class can be much more fair and impartial due to their class experiences. On the average, students will evaluate their teacher when the class is over. Because they really experienced teacher’s teaching and atmosphere of the class, they have learnt what their teacher has exactly taught. Thus they can judge and decide whether the teacher’s teaching meet their demand for knowledge and instilling. As a result, they can evaluate their teacher more fairly and impartially owing to their learning and achievements. For instance, my cousin Jim who study in the university in the USA. He needs to evaluate their professors who teach his subjects by filling a questionnaire. They will decide wether their teaching is helpful for students and how is the quality according to their experiences. In contrast, if the schools asked other teachers to evaluate, the result will not be typical and have no representativeness to judge a teacher’s teaching quality because other teachers do not really experience. Furthermore, the evaluations from students can help professors improve themselves better. In general, in the evaluations, students will point out the advantages and disadvantages. They will give suggestions to the aspects which can help professors to meet the demands. They will also give solutions and what students really would like to study and learn about on the lessons. Thus the teacher will know and decide to change the teaching styles or methods to meet students’ requirement. As a result, the teaching results and the quality will be greatly improved. In contrast, if others teachers need to evaluate teachers, they will not know the aspects they do not do well in and they need to improve. Admittedly, letting other teachers to evaluate the teacher may efficiently reduce the bias and the prejudice occurring among the students. As we know, if a student do not like the professor’s teaching styles, he may not give the professor a good evaluation even though they do well in this class. Thus the professors will not get the ideal results even though he put efforts a lot. In a nutshell, in the terms of all above mentioned, I prefer to let students who attend professor’s class to evaluate professors who teach their disciplines due to the fairness and improvement on teaching quality.