: People often buy products not because they really need them, but because other people have them.

In the contemporary society, much ink has been spilled about why people buy the things they why. Some people claim that people often buy products not because they really need them, but because other people have them. Such assertion, however, is torn to pieces by others. As far as I am concerned, this statement is arbitrary and one-sided because it fails to take all the related circumstances into consideration. We should analyze this statement comprehensively before we draw the eventual conclusion. To begin with, many people do not have spare money to but the products that is unnecessary. In China, ten percent of the population process almost ninety percent of the entire fortune of the country, leaving huge amount of people still struggle to meet the basic requirements of living a life, like health care and education. Not to mention the price of the house is through the roof. For example, people in the rural area invest all of their fortune to buy a house located in the urban area so that their children are able to have the opportunities to access the education that is far more better than what they can get back in the rural area. With that being said, these people are not likely to spend money on unnecessary things because they need to save the money for their future. Moreover, modern society has put a lot of pressure on people, making have no have time to figure out what products others have and they do not. Young people, especially those living in the big city, spend all their time surviving. High life expense provides them no spare time and money to focus on others. For instance, my uncle, who lives in Beijing, works ten hours a day, from Monday to Friday. He cannot afford the house close to his company; therefore he rents a house that is far away, and takes him two hours to commute. He usually gets up at six o’clock and comes back home at ten. Sometimes he brings extra work back to finish during weekends. We had a conversation last week when he told me he had not go shopping for a long time. He only grabbed what he really needs on his way home. Thus, people nowadays spend all their time living their own lives and have no time to pay attention to others. Admittedly, some people will buy the products because others around them have it. After trying the products, they are fascinated about the products. Also, they want to keep up with their peers. It is not a rare case that a high school student begs his parents to buy a new released iPhone not only because he needs the new added function, but also he does not to be left behind by his classmates. What he does not know is that the parents of the student using iPhone have the income that is three times more than that of his parents. To buy an iPhone will cost his parents a lot, but for his classmate a new iPhone is only a piece of cake. So we cannot just purchase the products just because other people have it. It is important to evaluate ourselves before we actually pay for the product. In brief, based on the previous discussion, the issue whether or not people often buy products because others have them is complex and needs a case by case analysis. We are not supposed to disregards those situations where the statement is unjustifiable. As a result, I can not totally agree with this statement.