Nowadays, many people cannot read or write. What problems does this cause? What measures can governments take to solve these problems?

These days, the problem that there are a number of people have no abilities of reading or writing has gain a great deal of public attention. While this is attributed to a whole host of reasons, some feasible solutions could be considered to address. On the one hand, there are several reasons of this problem. First, since many people must prefer earning a living and rasing their families, they have no chances to going to school. In fact, in many underdeveloped nations in Africa like Uganda, the majority of people, including children, are often work overtime and overburdened with it to adapt their basis needs. Consequently, these people could not have enough amount of time for learning. The second reason is by lacking of infrastructure, like school or system of transportation. For example, many children in remote areas do not have opportunities to reach the educational system, which prevent them to study and hence, they can not gain a wealth of reading and writing. On the other hand, several solutions could be taken into account to solve this problem. First, if the companies having people who can not read or write work could establish basic classes and galvanize their employees to learning by some rewards, like increasing in salaries or some mental rewards, these people would have motivations to study. Furthermore, the governments should have policies to spend a part of national budget in improving local infrastructure like building new school and enhancing transportation systems, especially in remote areas. This means that when local inhabitants are easier to access educational systems, they will going to study to enlarge their knowledge which will help them improve their life and hence, the rate of illiteracy will be decreased. In conclusion, it is clear that there are various reasons for illiteracy, and steps need to be taken to tackle this problem.