: it's better to make friends with intelligent people than with people who have a sense of humor?

Friends are very important in our life. Good friends can inspire us to make progress constantly or release our pressure. When it comes to making friends, some people argue that it is better to have intelligent friends, while others believe that it is more advisable to make humorous friends. As for me, I agree with the former one. First, intelligent friends can give us practical and useful suggestions when we meet difficulties. Intelligent people can analyze the situation in a logical sequence and creative angle, which enables them to provide some unique opinions. For example, when I had an internship in a data analysis company, I was struggling to find the reason of revenue declination. However, it seemed that I could not make a good model. Then, I asked my smart and experienced leader, who gave me suggestions quickly, telling me to segregate the market in a more detailed way and analyzing each situation accordingly. She even told me some factors I could pay attention to. Following her instruction, I quickly found the right way and handed in the report on time. By making intelligent friends, we can often get the new perspective of thinking. They always point out the right and specific angle which helps us to solve the problem more efficiently. Second, smart friends can encourage us to enhance ourselves. Usually, smart people have better abilities and higher social status. Thus, inspiring by them, we are more likely to work hard to reach their height. For example, when I was in high school, I made friends with one of the best students in our class. She often ranked top 1% in our class and also participated in many social activities. As the leader of our school radio, she could organize the team orderly and efficiently. As her friend, I don’t want to leave behind her. I wanted to be as shine as her too. As a result, I often ask her to go to the library or helped her with her radio work. Then, when I stepped into the university, I joined in one of the best clubs in our school, accumulating many smart people. Since I didn’t want to shame the reputation of the club, I worked extremely hard to help me involve in the club and have the common topic with them. Since they all have high expectation and requirement of themselves, I gradually learned to become those people too. Admittedly, some people may argue that we can release our pressure by making humorous friends. In such a rapidly growing world, everyone is under lots of pressure, leading to physical and mental health problem. Making jokes with friends can help us unwind and maintain a good mindset. However, it can also be achieved by playing sports or watching TV. Friends are not just about entertainment, more importantly, friends can motivate each other and make progress together. Friends who just play and eat together cannot maintain a long-term friendship, however, by fighting together and witnessing other’s progress, people will consider the friendship as a treasure in their life and keep it forever. All in all, it is more important to make intelligent friends, who can help us when we are in difficulties and make improvement together.