It is better to have friends who are intelligent than to have friends who have a good sense of humor.

A person’s appearance affects the way other people think about them and how they view themselves. Individuals throw away increased quantity of time and money on clothes, hairstyles and make up to change the way they look. This essay will discuss if it’s important for people to worry about their physical image and what effects it has. External features are significant in receiving respect in today’s world. Firstly, people, treats you for the way you’re presenting yourself, such as, what clothes and shoes you’re wearing. For example, some jobs require physical interaction with customers and other members of the society and in such cases; a good personal appearance is expected. In addition, it increases the self-confidence. If you’re looking good and others view you as someone superior, it boosts up your confidence and you perform better. To illustrate, only well-dressed students were allowed to stand on stage for the National anthem at St. Paul’s school. However, focusing only on physical image can have some negative impacts. Firstly, people forget about the importance of the inner beauty of oneself such as kindness. Additionally, in an attempt to look better than others and presentable, some people make choices that are harmful to health. For example, Michael Jackson underwent 16 surgeries to change the colour of his skin and eventually had a negative impact on his health. In conclusion, some people spend a large amount of money on materialistic things such as clothes, makeup and hairstyles. This essay discussed the importance of physical appearance at work and social life. However, some people can become too concerned about their image and lead them to neglect other aspects of their lives.