: it is better for university students to first get a general education, taking classes in many fields, than is for them to take clases only in their own field of study. Use details and examples.

There is no doubt that these days students are having varieties of courses to choose from, however the question: Should all students follow the same sequence of subjects or should they select by themselves? Is being a controversial issue nowadays. In this essay I am going to examine this phenomenon from both viewpoints. On one side of the argument there are people who argue that students should have a certain curriculum to follow without changes. The main reason for believing this is to give all of them the same chances in order to decide what they would like to be in the future as this will keep them on track through the last four years. Furthermore, it is also possible to say that seniors should study science courses as well as literature subjects, for instance: English, French, Physics, Chemistry and Business studies so they can have information in various fields. One good illustration of this is the education system in Canada that enforce all students to study the same courses from Grade one to ten so they can know their weaknesses and strengths carefully. On the other hand, it is also possible to consider it with the opposing case. It is often argued that in fact there should be a free space for students to choose their courses, especially during the last two years of school. Moreover, people often have this opinion because abilities differ among students for instance: some of them excel in art courses, however, others do well at science courses, so they can choose which courses to select more. On the other hand, they should not neglect any field of study that might help them later at his university. A second point is that, if a student would like to study Engineering then he does not need to do politics or history courses in Grade 11 and 12, however, he has to focus on Physics and chemistry. In addition, some courses should be counted as an elective one such as, Physical Education and Visual Arts so this will let the student feel that he is not under pressure. A good example is the education system in Kuwait. Students are allowed to choose either science stream or art stream in Grade 10 so they can continue in years 11 and 12 with what they are good at. In conclusion, as what we have seen, there is no easy answer to this question, however, I tend to believe that students nowadays are open minded and should have more opportunities to decide their future as well as school courses. Each student can discover himself accordingly and build up his future.