Nowadays, children rely too much on the technology like computers, smart phones and video games for fun and entertainment while playing simpler toys or playing outside with friends would be better for

An increasing number of children have their own smart phones and personal computers nowadays. Those electronic devices occupied their most entertaining time, which could have been spent on toys or with their friends instead. A part of parents hold a view that traditional entertainments are better for their children. I disagree with them. Electronic devices has incomparable advantages in all facets of our lives, including entertainment, with the advent of information age. Admittedly, electronic devices are not as good as traditional entertainments in some aspects. Long-time sitting in front of screen causes short sight, headache and lower back pain. Lack of physical exercise leads to muscle weakness. Electromagnetic radiation also impacts health negatively. Most of my friends wears quite thick glasses due to using too much computers. However, I encourage children to choose electronic devices as their entertaining method, if some unprecedented advantages of them are taken into consideration. Foremost, we are living in the information age, by which I mean we use electronic devices all the time. They are just like water and air for us. We are not able to live on without computers and smart phones in a modern society. Entertainment is the main method for children to learn to use those devices. Through playing games, listening to music and watching plays, they learn to use mouse, keyboard and touchpad, and learn to surf the internet, and learn to use Twitter and Facebook. If parents kept them away from this kind of entertainment, they would lose the skill of using electronic devices, which is apparently harmful for their future life. Moreover, electronic entertainments make children more social. Some parents think traditional entertainments, such as playing outside, as ideal way to make friends, while electronic entertainments turn children into more withdrawn ones. I disagree with them totally. Playing electronic games and surfing the internet have already been the most important method for children to have fun. Any child who doesn' t participate in those activities can' t fit into his/her peer group, which causes his/her isolation instead. In addition, internet enlarges children’s social circle. I make acquaintance with game players from all over the world through playing online games, while I only can make friends with my neighbors by playing outdoors. To sum up, I think of electronic entertainments as a better choice than traditional ones for children, although they are not perfect.