In the past young people depended on their parents for making decisions. Today, young people are better able to make decisions on their own.

At present, everyone desires to lead a healthy life. It has been observed that the number of obese people is increasing day by day, which is a matter of great concern to us. This essay will discuss the main causes and its effects in detail. One of the main reasons that people are gaining weight is their indifference towards own health. People are generally not concerned about their health and as a result, they eat whenever or whatever they want. In addition, nowadays junk foods are readily available and all ages of people love eating those foods. Although junk foods taste good, they are very harmful to human health and it also helps in gaining weight. Moreover, people rarely take physical exercise to keep their weight within limits. So, we can notice an increasingly number of overweight people around us everyday. If people become obese, then it affects their health. They are vulnerable to various kinds of heart diseases. A recent survey has shown that overweight people are more likely to be a victim of heart attack than an average person. Additionally, day to day work becomes very difficult for such a person, as he gets tired very easily. They cannot enjoy their life to full extent. It becomes difficult to take part in sports and other form of activities which requires some physical fitness. Sometimes, such a person becomes depressed and lose interest in their life. To summarize, obesity is a major problem nowadays and some of the main causes of this are the lack of sincerity, over eating and indifference towards physical exercise. As a result, people are suffering from various types of health related issues and in some extreme cases losing interest in their life.