“Overall, the widespread use of the internet has a mostly positive effect on life in today's world. " Use reasons and details to support your opinion.

Internet is one of the greatest inventions in the history. Since its foundation, in 1971, it has changed people’s lives in an unprecedented fashion, mostly due to the ability to spread information inside a millisecond anywhere in the world. This feature without a doubt is a huge positive factor in today’s society. In my opinion, I believe that transparency and access to infinite knowledge about every discipline one might be interested in, are two of the most profound changes caused by internet. To begin with, democracy can only flourish in a society, where transparency and accountability are present in every political and business environment. In the past, when internet did not exist, there were only a handful of news agencies, and most of them had deep connections or were controlled by people in power. Hence, the average people were unaware of what was going on, and as e result, a large number of corrupted politicians managed to get rich without any consequence. However, thanks to internet and information technology, the situation has changed. Now, every politician has to be extremely careful about his actions, or otherwise the news about his misconduct will spread from one corner of world to the other inside minutes, which will result in a resignation or imprisonment. My country is a compelling example of this. Last year, a mayor of one municipality was put in prison by law enforcements. This happened because one video of him talking with some businessmen about a multi-million dollar construction job, went viral on social media. Moreover, after his arrest was made official by state attorney, some women publicly declared that they were sexually harassed by him during the time they worked in the municipality’s administration. Therefore, he was sentenced for a total of twenty years in prison. This is just one of the many examples that proves the positive influence of internet in transparency. Secondly, internet gives opportunity to everybody to learn in a detailed way about any subject, that one might be interested in. There is no exact number about how much data there is on the internet, but according to some estimates made by Google and Microsoft, there is more than one trillion terabyte of documents. A big part of these documents are books and other study related materials. Therefore, a person can study and become an expert at almost every profession from his computer or other technology device. For example, my father has always been a big fan of cars. He has a economics degree from university, and has been working in a small financial firm for the last 20 years. However, in addition to some prior basic knowledge about fixing cars, he started to spend more time on his phone looking at videos. As a result, after twelve months, he accomplished his childhood dream and opened an automobile repairing shop. I am pretty sure there are thousands of other cases that can relate to my father. In conclusion, I strongly believe that internet is a positive factor in today’s society. This is because it increases transparency in political and business environment. In addition, it also gives unlimited access to huge amounts of data, which translates into wisdom.