People today work fewer hours and have more leisure time than previous generations did. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

there is no doubt in the fact that whether the current generation or our ancestors worked or not but what arises doubt in mind is the question who worked more than other generation. Personally, I believe that present generation have been giving more efforts. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay. To begin with, today' s era has become materialistic, which means people have the craving for having more and more things. people today have innumerable desires and wanted to accomplish them as fast as possible, making them to work hard day and night to fulfill them and forgetting all about their other pleasures of life. For example, my elder brother who has just been employed in the company is very precipitous in achieving all things which he dreamt off, since his childhood. he wanted to buy a car of his own, a bungalow and what not. However, all these things won' t come for free and require money and due to this my brother have made his life so much busy that he does not have time to even call parents and ask for their well-being. Hence, due to the increasing desires of people, they are becoming more and more engaged. Secondly, now there' s a sense of competition been engendering in the minds of people. Earlier people used to live a bucolic life and have their concerns regarding only to get their meal on time and they are not much cosmopolitan, but now due to the development of many countries, developing countries like india, China are promoting their citizens to work day and night in order to surpass the leading nations of the world. The country in which I am living is a compelling example of this. In my country, india government are making policies in order to lure public to work round the clock by making use of the nationality. The government is inciting the sense of competition with other countries and making them to perceive every other nations as their rivals whom public will defeat with their efforts. As a result, citizens are more embroiled in working hard leaving back all their happiness in their lives. Therefore, the increasing awareness about globalisation is making the people of developing country to do job for extra hours. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that current era is working more blindly than our ancestors. this is because everyone have become the victim of materialism and have myriad of desires and because globalisation is inciting the sense of competition in their mind making public to be industrious and not take rest until they have defeated their rivals.