In order to succeed in doing a new job, the ability to adapt oneself to the new environment is more important than the excellent knowledge of this job.

The past decade has witnessed the impression of job hopping transforming from negative and rare to neutral and common in the ordinary' s perspective. Since adapting to a whole new circumstance and thriving on a new job seem so significant for an ambitious individual, one tends to attach more significance to the swift accommodation to new environment than excellent knowledge of the job. Nonetheless, from my perspective, the grasp of knowledge is always of top priority while the ability to adapt is merely a bonus. First and foremost, the knowledge of the job plays as the base and crux for one to pursue success. Without adequate understanding of the job, success is no more than a mirage in one' s imagination of fantasy world. Consider a lawyer lacking in the basic comprehension of the law, the work of justifying for his clients will inevitably downgrade into a catastrophe. The lethal shortcomings will preclude any chance of a brighter future. In addition, adapting oneself to new environment isn' t so tough as imagined. We all experienced the stage of becoming senior students, high school students, university students and ultimately adults. The overstatement of the importance of adaptation is simply a hyperbole with no real meanings. Such is human nature that one' s potential to adapt himself to new environment is in reality unlimited if it really counts. Moreover, a good knowledge of the job is the very assumption that ensures the smooth transition to a new environment. A sturdy understanding of the job is immutable regardless of the environmental changes made and even a panacea to overcome the plight. Furthermore, recessive options are always available in doing a new job. If it really hurts to adapt to the new environment, one can simply quits than bearing all the pains. In this respect, the knowledge of the job makes all the possibilities. In sum, it' s superficial to exaggerate the significance of the ability to adapt to new environment. The splendid knowledge, by contrast, plays a vital role in one' s career and paves the way towards success confronted with any new job.