The Internet causes people to interact with each other less than they did in the past. Use specific reasons to support your answers

The internet is a technological innovation that added a new dimension to how we interact with each other. I do not believe that it causes people to interact with each other less than in the past. Today internet is dominated by social media websites like Facebook and Twitter. They provide us a platform to share our thoughts and feelings. We can upload pictures to express ourselves as well. Thus it has opened up a new channel of interaction. Lets take facebook, we can reach out to our school friends across the globe easily and get an update of their posts. We can comment or like on the posts to share our views. Thus it helps connect and discover people. Social media has increased our interaction through digital medium. People also write blogs. It gives the opportunity to a common person to reach out and interact with several people. Any one can read as per privacy policy and share comments. Thus we are not restricted but have a platform to reach out to a global audience. Hebbars kithen is a popular blog about cooking tasty vegetarian food. I had chanced upon it with simple search and my cooking abilities have improved greatly since. I had given my feedback and asked to include some more potato recipes. It was fun to interact with that lady. We can also find online dating services. Internet as a medium can thus be also used to connect with like minded individuals. There are several Facebook groups for going to an event. I have recently joined the trekking group called Adventurephiles. Through this I have met several hiking enthusiasts in my city and we planned trips together. Through video calling and VOIP, it has become easier to communicate with friends and family easily and at a cheaper cost. Once upon a time, phone call was a luxury and we spoke hardly for a minute. Today we can talk for hours given the technology. Instant messaging and other apps have also made interaction easier. Face to face interaction has reduced since the advent of internet. This can primarily be attributed to the fact that we can easily gain information online now, for which we once needed to depend on others. Nevertheless interaction as a whole has increased and new ways of communication and interaction have developed. Internet allows us to reach out to people in different corners of the world easily. We can meet new people of shared interests and explore interests in different fields like never before. Thus internet causes people to interact more than in the past.