It is wiser to use your money to gain meaningful experiences than to use it to acquire possessions.

Many people choose to spend money on tangible things such as new clothes, the latest cell phone, or a new bicycle. Of course some of these items are necessities and should be prioritized. However, I would argue that many people waste money collecting things. The best use of extra money is creating memorable experiences. When I am old and look back on what I enjoyed about my life, I am confident that I will be much more nostalgic about the experiences I’ve had than the things that I’ve owned. This is because major life events--weddings, graduations, family gatherings, and conquering significant challenges--help to define who we are and what is unique about our lives. Most things we buy grow old, break, or go out of fashion, but memories remain as long as we can recall them. Therefore, if the choice is between buying a nice car, or taking a memorable family vacation, I believe the answer is clear; experiences create precious memories, while a car depreciates in value the day you drive it off the lot. Additionally, experiences can lead to growth in a way that purchasing things cannot. When I was in college, I used my savings to pay for a summer abroad in the Dominican Republic. I could have bought a lot of nice things with the money I used for tuition, travel, and lodging that summer, but I never regretted the choice. During my time abroad, I navigated a new country while using a new language. It was not an easy time, but it was very rewarding. The experience shaped me in important ways. Indeed, I have never owned a physical object that had such a profound effect on my life as the summer I spent in the Dominican Republic. People should spend money wisely. It would not be smart to go on an unaffordable vacation, or to take out a huge loan to pay for a wedding. Nevertheless, when choosing between spending extra money on things or on creating memories and experiences, I believe the latter is the wisest choice. In the end, it is our memories that hold the most enduring value.