People now spend much of their time on personal enjoyment and doing things they like, instead of doing what they should.

That personal enjoyment and entertainment is an important part of our life, is an undeniable fact. Everyone enjoys certain activities and prefers to do them to relax and enjoy the life. There are two distinct schools of thought about the above-mentioned statement: some persons agree that nowadays personal enjoyment has gained more attention, and people prefer to do their favorite activities instead of doing what they should; others disagree. From my perspective, I disagree with the statement and here are my justifications. To begin with, nowadays, life has become increasingly busy and stressful. Therefore, most people do not have enough time for leisure activities. The veracity of this claim can be evaluated through a meticulous observation on the mass of examples; when I was at college, I used to go to university early in the morning and work at the laboratory until late in the evening. Every day, numerous experiments were waiting for me to accomplish them; hence, I had to work hard and I rarely found free time to attend my favorite activities. In the evening, when I came back home, I was so frustrated and I just wanted to go to bed and sleep. Another good instance is my father. He has two jobs and works almost sixty hours per week. Due to his heavy workload, we rarely manage to go out together or attend any social activity such as party or theater. Besides the above-mentioned reason, I believe that it is in the nature of life that sometimes, we should do a certain task or activity that we are not interested in. For me, I dislike going to dentist each month for a checkup. What’s more, in some scenarios, money is a limitation, which enforces us to do things we do not enjoy. For example, my father is not interested in working hard for long hours; but life expectancy enforces him to do so. Many people like to drive the last model of Ferrari; nevertheless, a large number of them drive a mediocre car. In addition, countless students, including me, do not prefer to live away from home and family; however, in order to achieve our goal and become a successful member of society and family, many students decide to get along with this issue and live and study abroad. As a result, individuals do what they should do instead of what they desire to do. All in all, although other sophisticated people may prove the otherwise, I still support my position based on the reasons explained in the body paragraphs. I reiterate that, because of various life circumstances, many people spend time doing what they should do, instead of doing their desirable activities.