People produce more garbage than in the past Explain how it is affecting us and the measures that could be taken to address the situation

It is not a surprise that the amount of waste materials produced by the whole world has been increasing dramatically every year. This massive amount of garbage can cause detrimental effects on both individuals and governments. However, there are some practical solutions in order to deal with this issue. To begin with, the rubbish we simply throw away contains some toxic chemicals which pollute the environment. This pollution will lead to the spread of infectious diseases such as Malaria that may put a wide range of people in danger of health problems. In addition to this, the more garbage we generate, the more difficulties governments will face managing it. This means that much more time and money must be spent during the whole process of collecting, transporting and disposing waste. As a result, poor societies may be incapable of handling such huge volume of garbage. In order to reduce the problem, governments should raise public awareness by informing populations about the importance of waste disposal. In some developing countries, households still do not manage their recyclable waste as they are not well-educated about waste segregation. Moreover, people should be encouraged to avoid using plastic products as much as possible. For example, imposing an extra cost for plastic bags at supermarkets would be an incentive for customers to bring their own shopping bags. Even in some countries, consumers who return their bottles and cans made of glass, plastic or aluminum can claim for a refund. In this way, all individuals are able to contribute to a world with less garbage. In conclusion, in order to reduce the harmful effects of the ever-increasing garbage, governments and populations should collaborate together and make efforts to clean the world from it.