Some people say that the current obsession with technology and the internet means that we are creating a generation of people that have poor social skills.

What distinguishes the 21st century is the introduction of the internet. Some people believe that the new generation lacks social skills because people are obsessed with new gadgets and the internet. I oppose this belief due to several reasons which will be discussed in the following. To begin with, the internet has actually made people more sociable with better social skills compared to what they used to be. What I mean is that the cornerstone of the society is talking, not being in the same place. Thus, nowadays, people socialize more than past owing to the spread of the internet and the fact that they can simply talk to anybody no matter where he lives thanks to the new technology. Research has shown that an individual in the 21st century gets to know five times more people compared to one in the 20th century. Moreover, the advancements in technology have helped half of the community to develop social skills. In the past, one was forced to meet others in person had he wanted to make new friends, which was a torment for introverted and shy characters. On the other hand, these days, one does not need to even leave his room for contacting people and becoming friends with others, making introverted people socially active. Granted what was said, it must be taken into account that social gatherings play an important role in the human’s lifestyle. It is observed that young people have trouble in these ceremonies and lack the skills needed for socializing in person inasmuch as they are used to chat behind the computer. To sum up, even though the generation raised cannot perform in parties and gatherings socially, the new technologies helped people to develop better social skills. The internet aided its users to meet more people as well as easing the act of taking part in society for introverts.