" Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. "

In the modern world, where everything has been digitalised and innovative methods of selling new products have come up, television advertising that is focused on young children aged two to five should not be allowed. I completely agree with this statement as advertisements have some negative effects on the minds of the children. Firstly, the children at that age are far more likely to be influenced as they are still in the developmental phase and don't have their own opinions and with much of the world still new to them, they want to try all of it. For instance, when they see an ad for a new toy or food, they want it, creating a pressure on the parents to buy those things for their kids. Therefore, they may also develop a materialistic idea of the world in the youngsters. Secondly, a large portion of the food items advertised is junk food which is visually very appealing and can influence the eating habits of the child. For example, burger king markets their burgers as big and juicy delicacies and makes the mouth of anyone water. Thus, commercials can sometimes be a cause of obesity among young boys and girls and lead to an unfit lifestyle. Lastly, the ads also lead to kids engaging in behaviours that are harmful for them. To illustrate, certain promotions portray stunts that can be very dangerous. Although, they do come with a statutory warning, it may often be ignored, and kids may attempt to imitate these stunts and end up getting injured. Hence, they affect the overall safety and well being of the little ones. In conclusion, for the sake of children's health and social development, we should definitely consider imposing a ban on television adverts aimed at youngsters.