The things we learn from our friends are more important than what we learn from our family.

It is evident that social media has widened its horizons over the last few years, whose widespread usage is putting detrimental effect not only on users but on society, as a whole. I completely agree with the statement that sites like Facebook, Twitter and Instagram are influencing people around the globe in a negative way. While on the surface, it seems social networking brings people together across the Internet, in a larger sense it may create social isolation and even addiction. As people prefer to spend amounts of time on social networks, hence experiencing less face-to-face interaction which is promoting device dependency and several health issues like hyper-networking and hyper-texting resulting in problems as severe as mental depression in many’s. According to a survey it is found that the primary reason of separation among couples is spending more time on social network instead of creating a harmony in relation. Furthermore, social media provides a platform that facilitates users to spread news worldwide on a single click. However, this facility is causing harm that any misinformation by miscreants can be easily shared globally without any authentication, which sometimes cause the irreparable harm to the reputations. In addition, disrespectful comments and posts about a sensitive matter put ill-effects on the victim. A study showed that most of the suicides were happening only because of bullying on the Internet. In summary, daily overuse of these social sites not only tends to have negative consequences on the health and mental well-being of an individual but also promoting isolation in society and sharing irrelevant information without any facts harming the dignity of others.