A zoo has no useful purpose. Use specific reasons and examples to explain your answer.

All around the world, museums and art galleries have always played a very important role in educating people. While some people believe these places are no longer needed due to the availability of historical information on computers, I completely disagree with this statement. Although advancement of information technology has made data readily available to the public, I believe it cannot provide the full experience of being in a museum or in an art gallery. For instance, it is near to impossible to explain our historical values to our children if they have not seen any object or artefact in real life, because they will not be able to relate to any physical object which can make them realise its existence in real life despite seeing images on a computer screen. In addition, museums and art galleries have always been places for tourist attraction and computer technology has played a positive role in marketing these places. Viewing historical objects and artefacts on a computer screen makes it more desirable to visit the place and observe such items in close proximity. For example, tourists visiting Sydney usually visit New South Wales Art Gallery because they usually have already seen the related information on the internet and they want a hands on experience. In conclusion, I believe, despite the fact that information is readily available on the internet, it does not impact the importance and status of museums and art galleries and such places will continue to operate, whereas I believe information has worked as a marketing medium for these places.