in order to solve the problems in the present and future, it is vital to understand the past.

It is observed that the number of people reading the news on the internet is rising. Despite this trend, it is argued that newspapers will remain a key source of information for the majority of people. This essay disagrees that newspapers will hold its position as a significant resource of news and information. Firstly, this essay will discuss the rapid growth in the use of internet-connected devices and secondly, it will discuss the rising awareness of reducing paper usage around the world. Today, everyone uses at least one internet-connected device e. g. Smartphones, tablets, laptops, or smart TVs, etc. Most of these devices have built-in news or social media applications that keep their users up to date with any local or international developments. It has become convenient for people to remain informed at any time without incurring any monetary cost as compared to reading newspapers. According to a report published by a journalist organization, 7 out of 10 people keep themselves informed of the current affairs through online news feeds and social media, and it is anticipated that in the coming years this number will be increased further. Secondly, a major quantity of paper produced today is made from trees in which every year millions of trees are cut off. This significantly accelerates the global warming process. Therefore, an awareness of reducing the unnecessary usage of paper as much as possible is on the rise. The majority of businesses, organizations, and governments discourage the use of paper in their day-to-day operations by using electronic channel e. g. Web portals and PDF documents. In this regard, well-known newspaper publishers around the globe have also contributed to the cause. For instance, several newspapers have launched their news websites and social media pages. This step has not only reduced the cost of printing newspapers for newspaper publishers, but also allowed them to retain their readership which prefers to remain updated online. In conclusion, this essay discards the idea that newspapers will remain a vital source of information because people have internet access as a more convenient and economical choice to remain informed as compared to read newspapers and they are more aware of minimizing paper usage than they were before.