Two people can still become good friends if one of them has more money than the other one does.

There is absolutely no doubt about the health threats consumption of tobacco poses to smokers and passive smokers around them. There are divergent views as to whether the banning of smoking in public places is the right decision or not. While there are some concerns about the health risks consumption of tobacco causes, I disagree that the use in public places should be prohibited. To begin with, a restriction on public consumption of cigarette would have a negative effect on the profitability of the manufacturers and the government. Production as a whole is a capital-intensive business and investors would have put in a lot of money to set up the businesses. The investors deserve a return on their investments. More so, the less profitable these businesses are, the lesser the taxes they are able to pay to the government annually. This is because tobacco is highly taxed in most jurisdictions and a ban on the public consumption would likely reduce its use which would then reduce government revenue from sales tax. In addition, the cost of compliance to new laws is usually very expensive. The government would need to embark on some infrastructural development that would help them with monitoring compliance and successful conviction of offenders. They would probably have to set up a court to attend to cases of noncompliance. These would likely be funded using taxpayers money that could be utilized for more critical aspects of the economy such as education and transportation. In conclusion, although tobacco is considered to be a leading cause of cancer for consumers and people around them, a ban on public consumption would be detrimental to the economy as a whole. Not only would it reduce government revenue, compliance would also come at a huge cost.