Individual greed and selfishness have been the basis of the modern society. Some people think that we must return to the older and more traditional values of respect for the family and the local community in order to create a better world to live in.

Today, luxury lifestyle has affected humans’ living conditions fundamentally. While in the past traditional rules were a major base for many communities, now people consider money as a priority. Some believe that our ancestors had a better living situation, and I firmly agree with them. Undeniably, now personal factors have become the first choice for many people living across the world. One obvious example is that young have less respect for elders. Thinking solely the benefits, juveniles value less their parents’ attitudes compared to the past. For instance, to select their marriage partner, the former youth considered their parents’ opinions more than now, whereas now they have become more selfish and do not value their parents’ experience. On the other side, parents have become greedy too. Clearly, they financially backed up their children before more than now; however, many over 65 people always prefer to have more saving instead of helping their children. As a prime example, my grandfather supported my mother’s education tuition, but she has not paid any cent for my education even she knew I had many problems to pay it. From my perspective, our ancestors had a better living condition. One important reason behind it is that they were more supportive to each other.   Admittedly, traditional family structure assisted all age groups to have a better feeling about life. Adolescents need to be supported by their adults during their study, and seniors received more aids from their offspring. Another one is that communities could adapt themselves to some unexpected critical conditions. In this case, had not European poor citizens been supported by the rich after World War II, their homes would not have been recovered so fast. In conclusion, developing of technology, humans have the lacking consideration to others. I personally believe that the former societies had safer lifestyles because all age groups were more supportive to each other, during critical conditions or any stage of life.