Describe a time you learned something new about someone you know well. Be sure to include specific examples in your response.

In some nations, the public feels more scared of crime, even though the number of criminal incidents is statistically lower than before. This essay points out the media’s contribution in spreading fear as a cause of this, and suggests balanced news as a remedy. People’s fear of crimes has increased because the media has multiplied multiply the scary effects of incidents that have happened in a part of a country by broadcasting news of them nationally. Although it might not be on purpose, this has spread fear over individuals who live in faraway locations from where these incidents have taken took place. For example, the recent mosque shootings in Christchurch, New Zealand, were covered by many television stations and broadcasted all over the country. As a result, Muslims who live in Auckland, Wellington and other cities were are afraid of going to their mosques, despite the fact that it was the first tragedy during the last few decades for the nation. In order to not spreading fear through crime news, the media ought to balance the coverage of violations which have occurred with officials’ efforts to prevent the same incident from being repeated. This way can assure people that they will not become the next victims of the same type of crime and help them to feel safe again. For example, a recent survey by Transport for London found that 95% of female commuters were no longer afraid to use the metro at night after the police announced that 44 members of a rapist gang who usually committed their crimes on public transportation had been arrested. In conclusion, the media is responsible for making people feel less secure by broadcasting news about serious crimes nationally. However, they may use a similar way to publish preventive actions to the crimes as a counter-effect.