Demand for food is increasing worldwide. What is the cause of this? What measures can the international community take to meet this demand?

One of the major concerns all over the world is whether the agricultural sector can meet the growing demand for food worldwide. This issue is caused due to two main causes – the ever increasing society and extreme changes in climatic conditions. However, it can be resolved through appropriate measures. The growing demand for cooking is caused by the ever increasing populace. Actually, over the last 50 years, there was a drastic increase in human culture. In fact, world public is expected to increase from 7. 9 billion in 2017 to 9. 7 billion by 2050. Unfortunately, cuisine production has not kept pace with. Climatic changes happening due to various reasons like depletion of ozone layer, acid rain and global warming have led to a decrease in the production of foodstuff. However, this situation could be remedied by farmers by increasing the area under cultivation and by using improved farming techniques. For example, yield can be increased by using quality fertilizers, improved methods of irrigation and modern techniques called precision farming. In addition to this, the government needs to take active participation in educating farmers about the use of such techniques and products. The international community also needs to step in. Countries where food is surplus must show the willingness to export it to poor countries at a nominal price. This will ensure that everyone irrespective of their financial situation or nationality has access to three square meals a day. In conclusion, though the population is increasing and climatic changes have damaged the current supply of food by using improved farming techniques and bringing more area under cultivation, food production can be stimulated.