Demand for food is increasing worldwide. What is the cause of this? What measures can the international community take to meet this demand?

In recent times, there has been a huge rise in the demand for food across countries. While some underdeveloped nations have reported loss of lives due to food starvation, some developed ones have concerns about food storage. Fortunately, however, there are solutions to deal with these problems. The major causes for the increase in food demand are population explosion and food wastage. In spite of the economy being low in countries like Africa, there has been an exponential increase in manpower. As a result of this food production cannot meet its demand, therefore, leading to serious issues like starvation. On the other hand, in countries where is economy is very sound there are issues pertaining to food wastage due to unavailability of advanced machinery for food storage. International food council can solve for the scarcity in economically backward countries by increasing the production through modern farming methods. India, for example, has made its food production rise northwards by 15% by adapting to advanced farming technologies. In developed countries where the wastage of food is high, initiatives should be taken to develop machinery that stores food for longer periods. To illustrate an example, recently the United States and Russia together developed an efficient process that allows food to be preserved for up to 20 days thereby bringing down the wastage by 20%. To conclude, there has been a drastic increase in food globally due to population explosion and food wastage. Thankfully, there are ways to solve it through technology and better farming techniques.