Deforestation caused by human activity is happening in many parts of the world, with serious results for the environment. What do you think can be done to solve this problem?

In recent decades, people have been increasingly dependent on timber and products that come from logging, hence the need for more trees to be harvested. However, although deforestation can cause untold damages to the environment, there are several measures which, if taken wisely, can lead to at least the stabilization of the situation. To begin with, governments should cooperate to put into place strict controls on logging of trees in forests. As a matter of fact, the logging which does the most considerable harm to the environment is done illegally, and timber smugglers are deforesting the richest woodlands on an unprecedented scale. Such criminal activities should incur severe punishments to discourage loggers from embarking on destroying natural treasures. They should come to recognize that trees and forests are not only pivotal to the well-being of the natural world, but also crucial to the life of both terrestrial and aquatic creatures in many direct and indirect ways. Yet, that does not mean that individuals should refuse to acknowledge their responsibility in contributing to the solution. People, in turn, can try to be less wasteful with their use of timber products. Timber could be replaced in many uses by other materials such as plastic and light metals. Furthermore, many people dispose of their timber-based products such as paper and furniture while they really have enough life in them to be used or reused with the help of some small repair, if they do not want to keep up with the Joneses, of course. More importantly, recycling should be taken seriously as there are many such centers in many cities around the world. Wood and paper pulp produced by recycling can forestall many trees being cut unnecessarily. Finally, utmost care should be taken in manufacturing wood products to not use logs and timber as long as used and recycled wood can be made use of in the process. In summary, living in a world without the forests and major woodlands is impossible as they are key to maintaining balance in the earth's global ecosystem. Both governments and people should shoulder their responsibility to minimize the damages that deforestation can bring about.