Cycling is a healthier and more environmentally friendly means of transport. Nevertheless, cycling is getting less popular. What are the reasons of this trend? What can be done to make cycling more popular?

It is true that although riding a bicycle could bring more fitness and environmental benefits, the popularity of this kind of transport is declining. This essay would look at some causes for this trend and a number of possible solutions that could be taken to mitigate the potential problems. To begin with, there are several reasons why few people travel by bikes. Firstly, since the pace of life is getting much faster than in the past, individuals do not want to spend too much time on transport. Therefore, they have a tendency to use other type of vehicles such as motorbikes or cars in order to save time. Secondly, going cycling demands a reasonable level of physical fitness to be able to ride on every terrain, even going up hills. In addition, perhaps people would confront with bad weather while travelling by this means of transport. However, a range of appropriate measures could be taken to resolve the phenomenon. The first action is that it is essential for government to increase the price of fossil fuels and impose higher tax on cars and motorbikes. By adopting this policy, more people would choose bikes as their first priority. Another feasible solution to encourage citizens in using this sort of transport is building roads exclusively for cyclists. Consequently, bike-riders can enjoy their healthy and pollution-free trips. In conclusion, there are some reasons why travelling by bike begin to lose currently, and practical approaches should be taken early to promote this eco-friendly and beneficial kind of transport.