Currently there is a trend towards the use of alternative form of medicine. However at best, these methods are ineffective, and at worst may be dangerous.

The patronage of alternative forms of medicine by people in recent times is becoming increasingly popular and this is believed by some that at best, these methods can be harmful and ineffective. In my opinion, I partially agree with this view as these alternatives could be beneficial as well as dangerous depending on the context and level of scientific study done on them. On the one hand, a majority of medical alternatives have not been fully studied by science and could have some dangerous side effects. While these medications could be very helpful with people's symptoms, they could also cause some problems in the body system. For example, a popular local herb in China used for relief of stomach aches was studied by experts and discovered to cause bladder cancer in about 40percent of its users as at 2016, causing the government to abolish its use. Another issue with the use of these alternatives is that some have been found to offer immediate relief meanwhile the main problem is left untreated. For instance, in Uganda where snake bites are frequent, natives usually treat the affected bitten limb by occluding it with tight ropes and applying some oils and herbs. While this method relieves the pain significantly, it has been medically proven to be ineffective and eventually cause gangrene of that limb. However, some alternative forms of medicine have been proven to be useful with little or no harmful problems associated with them. A good example is therapies like acupuncture and massage which have been proven to be safe and beneficial. In other words, they are good stress relievers and effective pain killers when we'll administered. In conclusion, although the trend towards the utilisation of medical alternatives is thought by some to be problematic, I believe that it depends on the forms used and the studies that they have undergone. Thus, they should be researched more by science and not be ruled out as harmful methods.