Both the poor and the rich find the accessibility into university difficult.

It is argued that getting admission in universities are becoming tougher not only for financially poor but also for wealthy students. I, however, presume that economically weak students are facing this reality rather than financially wealthier students. It is because poor students simply cannot fulfil two major selection criteria of the universities and colleges: university fees and outstanding grades. Prohibitively expensive fees that are required for admission have refrained thousands of students away from tertiary education. Based on the report recently issued by the US Department of Home Affairs, 80 percent of students who fail to get admission are from families who lack financial support. Even though governments in different countries have shown some concerns to solve this issue by providing some educational loan, the aggregated cost will be so large in figure that students need almost 30 years period to completely pay back the loan; moreover, the interest rates are ridiculously high. Students are, therefore, opt to find jobs after accomplishing high schools instead of bearing stresses generated from educational loan throughout their lives. Furthermore, requirement of high grades for admission are in fact shattering the students’ dream of pursuing university education, and the matter of fact is that a large majority of such students are from poor family. It is true that most of the outstanding students are produced from those high schools where the fees are extremely expensive as they need a large budget to hire genius educators. Consequently, only wealthier students can only afford it and in turn they pass out with excellent grades who are apt to get admission in universities. In conclusion, it is mostly the poor students who are restricted from the pursuit of higher education since they are unable to cover the ridiculously expensive cost of university fees; meanwhile, they also have low high school grades, as compared to the grades obtained by their wealthier counterparts, which is also very important selection criteria.