Crime rate, in most countries, is often higher in urban areas than in rural area

In recent decades, crime rate among different areas in most countries has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although crime rate in metropolitan areas is higher than it is in rural ones, can be attributed to whole host of reasons, some feasible solutions can be considered to address this. There are a number of reasons why this pattern exists. First, since urban areas are more ethnically diverse than rural ones, leading to the likelihood of conflict causing crime among people with different behavior and belief systems is higher. For example, racism with people of color still alive, just a minor conflict among individuals in urban areas can get people into bloody fights, which potentially leads to crime. Second, since metropolitan areas are more densely populated, citizens have to compete for limited opportunities and scare resources. Plenty of evidence suggests that those who in the disadvantageous position in society would have a higher tendency to commit crimes, even petty ones, just to make a living. Nevertheless, there are also a variety of solutions to diminish crime rate, either in urban areas or rural ones. First, by organizing social cultural activities, the local officials can help people from different cultural background gain mutual understanding. For instance, although Toronto is the most melting pot in the world, the crime rate is among lowest thanks to multicultural activities. Second, enforcing stricter punishments would act as a deterrent again the motivation to commit crime. In fact, realizing that the costs of breaking the law are too high, every potential criminal would think twice before engaging in illegal activities. In conclusion, the cultural diversity and populous can explain the problem. By focusing on the differences among people and the law, crime rates in not only cities but also rural areas would reduce.