Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful than those countries which do not have a long working time

In recent decades, the undeniable truth has presented that with the rise in competition there is gradual rise in working hours in every country. However, many people wrongly believe that a long average working time is directly tied to a nation' s economic prosperity. Whereas working overtime is more likely to negatively impact on economic progress. This essay provides some empirical evidences to support this. To begin with, lengthening the duration of hours per employee is not necessarily improve the productivity rate of labor. Substantial scientific evidence demonstrated that extended work schedules adversely affect the health and well-being of workers. To enumerate people work long hours are vulnerable to illness, including fatigue, work stress and depression, thus, decline their performance. Accordingly, the rate of sick leave is likely to increase, in a long run, which is regarded as a cost which would hold back the economic success. Hence, a long average working time is associated with diminished output. On the other hand, instead of increasing working hours, some essential factors of driving a successful economy have incredibly improved productivity along with reducing working hours of employees. Firstly, technological innovation, which proves a nation' s ability to create and exploit knowledge, has become a major source of competitive advantage and wealth creation. The innovative technology, such as computer and smart phone, have helped to increase performance in producing goods, facilitated communication and enabled more extensive networking and cooperation among firms. Apart from that, highly educated and well-trained workers are vitally important to improve the productivity of competently operating industries. In conclusion, a long average working time of a country is not proportional to its economic success but there are some factors like technological development which results to startling growth of a country’s economy.