Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful than those countries which do not have a long working time.

Experts throughout both the developing and developed worlds have debated the economic successfulness of countries with long working periods in average. Some believe prolonged commitment to work is regarded the norm of wealthy economies, personally I strongly disagree. There is ample evidence that economic prosperity of any nation can be tumbled if their citizens well being is compromised due to long and stressful workdays. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly if people sacrifice their health by working longer hours, they will eventually become a financial burden to the health care system. Secondly, the productivity of workers gets affected, which is directly proportional to the overall development of a country. For example, recent empirical research by the UK Government demonstrated that 65% of high-earning individuals who worked more than 60 hours per week showed symptoms of burnout and had to finish their professional career within 15 years because of health issues. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that promoting an all-consuming career can be detrimental to individuals and the progress of domestic economic situation Although there is a case of additional income from working long hours benefiting financial situation, the impact of this loss of time for personal or family needs cannot be overstated. This is largely because people may struggle to take their time off for raising children. Because of long work hours, some employees will not find time for a relationship or family at all and remain single, which can for example be observed in Japan. Consistent with this line of thinking is that birth rates are likely to fall, as well as the economic potential of the workforce in the future. Thus, it is possible to state beyond doubt that low birth rate might leave a society with an aging population and result in high immaterial and material cost to the country. From the arguments and examples given I firmly believe that the negative effects of long work hours are a burden to economy whereas advantages exists only short-term.