Countries are often very keen to hold a major sporting event such as The Football World Cup or The Olympic Games. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of holding an important international sporting competition.

Those in charge of major nations are often desperate to stage top international football tournaments, athletics meetings or cycle races. Governments have been known to spend millions trying to persuade sporting organisations like The IOC to bring events to their areas. However, although holding a tournament can be advantageous and lucrative, potential bidders should not lose sight of the possible hazards and pitfalls. Without doubt, the most obvious benefit is financial. New stadia, accommodation, transportation links and other infrastructure projects go ahead. This provides a boost for the local construction industry. Similarly, temporary service-sector jobs are created whilst the tournament is taking place. Finally, tourism is likely to increase, providing further economic prosperity. A slightly less tangible advantage is related to national pride. Citizens feel rightly pleased that their nation has managed to stage such a prestigious event. The country’s reputation grows as it becomes connected with the success of the competition in question. This too could translate into economic success: businesses from a country associated with competence find it easier to do deals worldwide. However, the downsides can be considerable. Firstly, the immense cost can exceed the profits. A region may need to borrow capital to fund building projects and could have to raise taxes significantly. In addition, the facilities and public amenities constructed might rarely be required again. Finally, there is the distinct possibility that something will go terribly wrong. Poor organisation, a transport-workers’ strike, political unrest or even a terrorist attack could mar a city’s reputation for generations. Evidently, cities hoping to stage The Asian Games or The European Football Championships should recognise that, as well as substantial rewards, there are serious risks. They might produce an internationally-acclaimed success or a total disaster. I would recommend that political leaders think carefully before entering the bidding process.