Consumption of the world's resources (such as oil, fresh water, etc) is increasing at a dangerously fast rate. What are the causes of this increased consumption? What can people do to reduce it?

In this global era, it is commonly recognized that the remarkable improvement of human's living standard because of the the advancement of technology. However, the advanced science and technology are contributed to the depletion of natural resources as we can see the resources are being consumed at an alarming rate. Hence, it is important for us to discuss the consumption causes and its solution. First of all, the world population is growing, and demand is growing with it, but there have not enough resources to support the rapidly growing population. Although humanity uses 50% of the world's fresh water currently, 80% of the fresh water will have been consumed in 40 years. It is real data indicates that if people do not use water resources properly, we will suffer the water shortage sooner. In addition, the mineral and oil reserves are fast depleting because of being the energy of transportation. In order to personal desire, human beings are over-exploiting their own planet and have not think that pollution is having an adverse effects on the world's resources. On the other hand, recycling is the effective method to reduce the destruction towards environment. Every individuals have the ability to classify some waste materials such as paper, can and glass, it is easy for related department to conduct the process of reuse. It is essential for mankind to make a right choice to recycle, reduce the energy consumption and purchase only environmental friendly products. Sustainable green sources of energy also should be promoted by the government, due to accelerate the issue of protecting our resources. In conclusion, every public must cooperate and pay effort to protect the natural resources. Before we buy the products that maybe can be harmful to the environment, we should think that whether it is necessary for us or can be replaced by substitute.