Computers are being used more and more in education. Some people say that this is a positive trend, while others argue that it is leading to negative consequences.

In the modern life, computer use in learning has significantly increased. While other people think that this is a favourable development, others believe that its outcomes can only be considered as unfavourable. In this essay, I will discuss both views before coming down to my opinion. On the one hand, use of machines in schools eases burden on teachers. This is because, teachers will only give skeleton information to students and the rest they will surf it on the internet using computers, hence they will devote time to other activities. For example, learners can be given an assignment which they will submit later. If computers were not to be employed, then a considerable amount of time will be wasted. What is more, computers are fast in carrying out activities which make learning more convenient and enjoyable for learners. On the other hand, this development might be considered as disadvantageous not only because of distractions it brings but also loss of employment in the education sector. To elaborate, learners tend to get distracted when using computers, especially the internet as the myriad of information that comes out might be overwhelming, not to mention the distractions from computer games. In addition, some teachers might see themselves unemployed as computers will be performing their job. In conclusion, I opine that the effects brought by computer-based education is negative as it distracts students from learning as well as putting some teachers' jobs at stake. However, their use should be embraced, but with some regulations to counteract these effects.