Computers are being used more and more in education. Some people say that this is a positive trend, while others argue that it is leading to negative consequences.

Technological advancement has infiltrated all spheres of life, including education. It is believed by some that the increasing use of computers for learning is a positive development, while others hold the view that it has more negative repercussions. In my opinion, although some of its effects may be detrimental, I consider its role in education as a plus. On the one hand, supporters of the view that the employment of computers for use in academic settings causes more harm than good believe so because of the over-reliance on this mode of learning. In other words, learners surfing the internet for every topic are at the risk of dormancy by not tasking their brains. Also, they believe that when used, for instance, in elementary and secondary schools, it reduces the need to develop certain skills which were important in the past such as good handwriting. As a result of this, they consider the application of computers in schools as dangerous to learning. However, I agree that there are more upsides to their usage. Firstly, their functions result in convenience. In other words, students who have to work to pay tuition fees can learn at their own pace while also trying to raise funds for their academics. Additionally, the use of computer and other technology permits distance learning. For example, in several countries of the world, it is increasingly seen to take master's courses and obtain a degree without reporting to a physical building of a university. Furthermore, the internet also provides articles and journals that may be used and cited in different course works without going through the frantic search for books in libraries. Thus, it has been beneficial to the field of academics. In conclusion, while it may be said that the advent of computers and its increasing role in education causes negative effects, I strongly believe that it has done more good. It is hoped that its use will continue to be of importance.