Computer are being used more and more in education. Some people say this is a positive trend, while others argue that it is leading to negative consequences.

People are divided in their opinion regarding the frequent usage of computer in the education system. Some people consider this a beneficial development, while others opine that it poses negative effects. This essay agrees that an increase in the use of technology in teaching is beneficial to students and teacher; hence, this essay will discuss both views. Apparently, some people are of the opinion that constant usage of electronic devices in the classroom are advantageous because they make available varieties of educational resources, for learners and tutors to carry out their research. The reason for this is, that authors constantly upload their books on the internet; therefore, this makes teaching and learning more effective. This is exemplified by a research conducted in 2007 by a final year student of University of Abuja, it showed that 79% of students tutored using an electronic media performed better in their academics. Another point to consider, is that frequently using computers for educational purposes are of a huge benefit as it makes teaching and learning interactive. This is because computer based teaching aids are usually in an audiovisual format; hence, fostering interaction in the teaching and learning experience for both teachers and students. To illustrate, in 2017 it was reported by the Guardian Newspapers that introduction of media instructional aids made acquiring knowledge more interactive. Opponents of the above view are of the belief that the upsurge in the use of technology in education has several adverse impacts. Firstly, they think it hinders students from applying themselves fully to their studies. In other words, students can be easily distracted by some noneducational apps available on the computer. Examples of such applications include Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter. In addition, using computers in classrooms expose learners to some uncensored adverts that could pop-up on the screen while using the internet, thereby influence their behaviour's negatively. In summary, although some people argue that an increase usage of technology in schools leads to students being distracted in their studies and it also influences their behaviour adversely. In my opinion, this is of no negative consequences, as it makes limitless study resources available to the users; also, educational experiences become more interactive.