Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discus both sides and give your opinion.

Higher education is increasingly popular, especially among young adults. Many people think university degree is the most important thing to secure a good position in an organization, while others believe that having experience and soft skills are good enough to excel in one’s career. In my opinion, a university degree is essential to secure a good spot, whereas soft skills and prior knowledge helps you perform your job well. On the one hand, many of us think it is easier for most of the people to find a good opportunity in their career, if they have higher education from reputed institution. This is the reason why we have overwhelming competition among young adults to get an admission in good universities here in Pakistan, even people tend to pursue their tertiary education abroad. It is also observed in many advertisements where it is specifically mentioned, in the minimum education requirement that “University Degree is a must”. In addition to this, there are many professions where it is impossible to work without degree for instance, medical, law and teaching to name but a few. Therefore, it is obvious how important is to get a good degree to secure one’s career. On the other hand, although, having work experience and soft skills such as good communication and leadership skill through the balance in favour of the applicant, but it all depends on the position being applied for. For example, if the company required a university graduate, only soft skills will not help the contender to secure an appointment It is often noticed when there are multiple candidates are shortlisted for a single position with the same kind of degree, this is the soft skills or extra knowledge, which matters at the end of the day. In conclusion, however, higher study is the most important thing to secure a job depending on the type of work or field, but we cannot deny the importance of soft skills and experience. People should focus on both sides for not only getting the job, but to sustain in the market.