Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discus both sides and give your opinion.

Providing education to every child is the order of the day for their better future. Many people think university degree is the most important thing to secure a good job, while others believe that having experience and soft skills are good enough to excel in one’s career. In my opinion, university degree is essential to secure a good job whereas soft skills and experience helps you perform your job well. On the one hand, many of us think it is easier to for most of the people to find a good job if they are university graduates with a good degree. This is the reason why we have overwhelming competition among young adults to get an admission in good universities here in Pakistan, even people tend to pursue their tertiary education abroad. It is also observed in many job advertisements where it is specifically mentioned in minimum education requirement that “University Degree is must”. In addition to this, there are many professions where it is impossible to work without degree for instance, medical, law and teach to name but a few. Therefore, it is obvious how important is to get a good degree to secure one’s career. On the other hand, although, having work experience and soft skills such as good communication and leadership skill through the balance in favour of the applicant, but it all depends on the position being applied for. For instance, if the company required a university graduate, only soft skills will not help the contender to secure the job. It is often noticed when there are multiple candidates are shortlisted for a single position with the same kind of degree, this is the soft skills or extra knowledge, which matters at the end of the day. In conclusion, although degree is the most important thing to secure a job depending on the type of work or field, but we cannot deny the importance of soft skills and experience. People should focus on both sides for not only getting the job but to sustain in the market.