Competition increases in every person's life.

In some countries, an increasing number of businesses are open for longer periods of time per day. In this essay I will discuss the positives, including accommodating more people and the negatives such as being fatigued and having less family time. One of the main reasons why shops will open for longer hours is to accommodate the majority of the population. Most working class people will do their shopping before or after work. In doing this, they can keep their customers happy. For example, in China, most of the shops open from 10am till 10pm in order to satisfy the needs of the public. In addition, opening for longer hours to benefit the public can also increase the income received. Therefore, long work hours are put in place to accommodate the customers. However, opening for longer hours comes with its drawbacks. One of the main disadvantages is being overworked. Long working hours can be tiring for many which can eventually lead to a burnout. For instance, studies have shown that above average hours of work can have a negative effect on job performance in the long run. For this reason, spending too many hours a day at the job can have a negative effect. Additionally, long work hours can affect the family dynamic as less time will be spent on them. The family can feel neglected which, in turn, comes with its own drawbacks including delinquency. Children may not receive the necessary support from their hard-working parents and resort to alcoholism or drugs. Therefore, long work hours also has an effect on the family. In conclusion, even though longer work hours per day can satisfy the needs of the public, the negative effects, including overworked staff and neglected family, outweigh the positive effects.