Communication is less between family members of late.

Over the past decades, the declined intimacy among members in a typical family has translated to an impediment on societal development. it is widely believed that such seismic shift in family communication was a corollary of the advancement of technology and economy. The aim of this essay is set to explore the reasons derived from these two spheres. To begin with, it is intuitively obvious that the economic growth is perceived as a hindrance of family communication, in particular to late family members. In fact, with the augmented workload accompanied with prosperity, parents who are also the major workforce of the society often have to dedicate more time to their rituals, resulting a shortfall of opportunity to stay with family members. For instance, recent empirical research from the Labour Committee ascertained that the average working hours have doubled over the previous decade. Seen in this light, the prosperity is likely to weaken the effort spent on maintaining the bonding among family members by lengthening the working hours. Meanwhile, another pivotal factor to remember is that junior members of a family are highly susceptible to the technological derivatives impeding communications. What this means is the cell phone connecting the Internet has a high tendency to stray our descendents from a valueable family dinner driving communication. Evidently, having interviewed by the Social Harmony Association, 70% children admitted that, rather than enjoying a fruitful communication with parents, they remain engrossed to the screen on having a family dinner. Consequently, distracting by these electronic devices, regular family communication is unlikely to be sustainable between parents and children, and late members eventually estrange themselves from family life. In conclusion, there is undeniable evidence that the economic development and burgeoning of smartphone are impeding the communication channels within an ordinary family, especially with the youth. Given such changes are irrevocable, it is predicted that this phenomenon of lessened communication in modern families will become a norm in foreseeable future.