Choose a place you go to often that is important to you and explain why it is important. Please include specific details in your explanation. (TPO 02 task1)

Some museums have an admission charge while some do not. In my opinion, the drawbacks of an entrance fee are eclipsed by its benefits in the sense that the income will be ploughed back into the processes and development of the museums. A major disadvantage of an intake fee is the possibility of reducing the number of visitors. Museums house exhibitions and artefacts of great educational and historical value. If the chief aim of a museum is to introduce the local community, admission should be free to the public and visitors. Take some folk museums in Hong Kong, which preserve historic relics and display folk customs, for example. Admission to these folk museums, which are often monuments, is free of charge. If they had charged an entrance fee, many might have turned to other activities. Although an entrance fee might have a negative effect on the figures, but an income is favorable to museums in terms of operative capacity. Furthermore, museums feature educational exhibitions at times, and this could not have been done without a sum of money expended on hiring professionals and buying equipment. Nevertheless, the Hong Kong Space Museum, for instance, has monthly exhibitions on different issues and professional docents are employed to take visitors on a guided tour around the museum. This example speaks volumes about how a reasonable admission charge is advantageous to the operation of a museum. In conclusion, the disadvantages of the fee are overshadowed by the benefits accruing from a stable source of income. Therefore, having weighed up the pros and cons, I am convinced that museums should charge an entrance fee for the sake of operability and development.