Children who start reading early in life, perform better later on in their school studies. How important are early reading skills in a child's academic performance? What other preschool factors influence a child's later academic achievements?

Children who begin reading early perform better in school studies later in life. Early reading skills are very important in a child's future academic achievement. This essay will discuss the importance of early reading and preschool factors that may influence a child's performance in the school. Firstly, it is important to understand that the brain gets accustomed to act of reading when a child is exposed to learning at a tender age, making it easier for him to discipline his brain to acquire knowledge at an older age. This is because the brain, like every other muscle in the body, can take any shape if exercised properly and consistently. For example, my cousin began preschool when he was a year old, because his parents were too busy and could not stay at home with him. However, it turned out that it was a good thing for him because he found it easy to read books with proper concentration for an extended time. Apart from early reading habit, another factor in preschool that could affect a child's future success in education is sharing and collaborating. In playgroups, children are taught to share their toys and play together. This is a vital skill a person needs for a successful educational career in life. To support my point, a 1998 United Nations study showed that children who attended kindergartens at very young age found it easier sharing ideas and collaborating in colleges. The study further went ahead to link this to the values that they had imbibed in playing in groups as babies. In conclusion, early learning and preschool attendance are very crucial for achieving success in a child's future academics.